You are here

Belfast City Council

Primary tabs

Belfast City Council is the local authority with responsibility for part of the city of Belfast, the capital and largest city of Northern Ireland.

The Council serves an estimated population of 333,871 (2011), the largest of any district council in Northern Ireland, while also being the fourth smallest by area. 

The Council is made up of 60 councillors, elected from 10 district electoral areas across the city. It holds its meetings in the historic Belfast City Hall.

As part of the 2014/2015 reform of local government the city council area expanded and now covers an area that includes 53,000 additional residents in 21,000 households. The number of councillors increased from 51 to its current number. 

Belfast City Council has a number of open datasets licensed under the Open Government Licence: click here.

1 datasets